Thursday, September 10, 2009

This book will inspire you!

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba. Coming from Harper Collins on October 1, 2009. $25.99

I'll say up front that this book was written by a teen and that it reads like it, but the story is so heartwarming that time spent reading it is well rewarded. It's the tale of a young boy from Malawi, poor but enterprising, who gives hope to his entire village during the worst famine in his country's modern history. The obstacles he overcomes to bring electricity and running water to his village would seem insurmountable to most people, since these things are "luxuries" that only the richest 2% of the Malawi population enjoy, but William's curiosity and determination worked a modern miracle. This tale proves once again that one person can indeed be a vehicle for positive change in this world. For fans of Three Cups of Tea or Mountains Beyond Mountains.

Check out the movie trailer that the publisher has put together to promote the book by clicking here.

~Emily Crowe

No comments: